Assessment Models

ASSIST is applicable to different service domains addressing older people, including health and social care services, work and employment, and others. Its flexibility results from the application of what is called assessment models, that can be easily adapted to different purposes.

An assessment model consists of a generic set of stakeholders that can be involved in a service (divided into service users, service provider organizations and their staff, industry partners and others), and of a set of cost and benefit indicators for each of these stakeholders. At the start of an assessment, the most appropriate model is chosen and adapted to the actual conditions met with in the service to be assessed.

Up to now, assessment models have been developed and used for the following service domains:

  • Telehealth / telemonitoring
  • Telemedicine
  • Telecare
  • Integrated eCare (social care, health care, third sector)
  • e-Services for people with Dementia
  • e-Services for older employees

If you are interested in how an ASSIST assessment model can look like for the specific case of a telemedicine service, we recommend this report…

ASSIST has been applied successfully in more than 85 pilot services and case studies since 2005. To get a better understanding of how ASSIST is used in practice you may want to have a look at the following initiatives and projects that all have employed the approach or are currently doing so: